Who has won the most Daytona 500s?


The Daytona 500 is a tough nut to crack.

Victory on the high banks of Florida’s famed track has eluded many NASCAR Hall of Fame drivers, including Tony Stewart, Mark Martin and Terry Labonte, and it remains the one race on the circuit that two-time Cup series champion Kyle Busch has never won.

Others have been more successful. Trevor Bayne took the checkered flag as 20-year-old rookie in 2011 and a dozen drivers have won it twice.

But who are the masters of The Great American Race?

Jeff Gordon – 3 wins (1997, 1999, 2005)

The Rainbow Warrior won his first Daytona 500 in 1997 on the way to his second season title. Gordon crossed the finish line under caution, relegating teammate Terry Labonte to second place for the third time in his career.

Dale Jarrett – 3 wins (1993, 1996, 2000)

Dale Jarrett was the star of the “Dale and Dale” show as he took the lead from Dale Earnhardt on the final lap of the 1993 race and stayed out front with his father Ned Jarrett calling the race with unabashed favoritism from the broadcast booth.

Bobby Allison – 3 wins (1978, 1982, 1988)

Allison’s last Daytona 500 may have been the sweetest, as his son Davey finished in second place. The younger Allison would go on to claim victory for himself at the track in 1992.

Read more…