Who won the Heisman Trophy in 2020? Full voting results, stats, list of award winners


The 2020 Heisman Trophy winner was announced Tuesday night on ESPN in a ceremony that took place six days before the College Football Playoff title game.

Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith won the honor with 447 first-place votes — more than double the second-place finisher. It’s a regular season award, but fans will still get to see Smith competing in the CFP championship; he will go up against Ohio State next Monday in his final college appearance.

The other finalists were Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence, Alabama’s Mac Jones and Florida’s Kyle Trask. Lawrence finished ahead of Jones for second place, which surprised many observers who believed Jones was the only threat to Smith at the top of the list.

Previously, the No. 5 through No. 10 vote-getters for the Heisman Trophy were unveiled. In order from most to least votes received, those honorees were Najee Harris, Breece Hall, Justin Fields, Zach Wilson, Ian Book and Kyle Pitts. Fields, the quarterback for Ohio State, will oppose Smith in the CFP championship.

Read more…